Overview of the SDSS-V Collaboration

Image Credit: Juna A. Kollmeier and Hans-Walter Rix

Join us!

SDSS-V, like previous SDSS surveys, will remain committed to making its data publicly available in a format that is helpful to a broad range of users, from beginner students to both amateur and professional astronomers. However, without federal or other large-scale funding, this commitment is not possible without membership contributions from institutional partners. SDSS-V is currently under development and actively seeking funding from partners. Our institutional partners benefit from early access to data, participation in the survey planning process, and involvement of their faculty, postdocs, and students in the science collaborative network.

Policies for joining the program can be found in the Joining Document. The general policies for SDSS-V are defined in its current Principles of Operation; the member institutions will review these policies prior to the start of SDSS-V operations.

To encourage new institutions interested in SDSS-V to join the SDSS science collaboration now, we are announcing the following opportunity for SDSS-V institutions to also join SDSS-IV for a small additional price. For SDSS-V institutions, each SDSS-IV “slot” will be priced at \$25,000, rather than the original price of \$210,000. The cost will scale with the number of slots for larger memberships, in the ordinary fashion defined in the SDSS-IV Principles of Operation. Institutions can take advantage of this incentive to bring their total number of SDSS-IV slots up to but not exceeding their total number of SDSS-V slots. The SDSS-IV portion of the payments will be due upon signing the SDSS-IV MOU, whereas the SDSS-V portion of the payments will be due on a normal schedule or as negotiated with SDSS-V.

SDSS-V Organization

SDSS-V is managed by its Central Project Office and numerous teams overseeing the hardware, software, data archiving, and scientific planning tasks. These efforts are also supported by a Technical Advisory Group, the SDSS Advisory Council, and the scientific working groups.

  • Director: Juna Kollmeier (OCIS)
  • Project Scientist: Hans-Walter Rix (MPIA)
  • Project Manager: Solange Ramirez (OCIS)
  • Spokesperson: Gail Zasowski (Utah)
  • Lead Systems Engineer: Stefanie Wachter (OCIS)
  • Black Hole Mapper
    • Program Head: Scott Anderson (UW)
    • Survey Scientists: Andrea Merloni (MPE), Yue Shen (UIUC)
  • Local Volume Mapper
    • Program Head: Niv Drory (UT)
    • Survey Scientists: Guillermo Blanc (OCIS), Kathryn Kreckel (UH), Eric Pellegrini (UH)
  • Milky Way Mapper
    • Program Head: Jennifer A. Johnson (OSU)
    • Survey Scientists: Jon Bird (Vanderbilt), Nathan De Lee (NKU), Melissa Ness (Columbia), Andrew Tkachenko (Leuven)
  • Multi-Object Survey Coordinator: Kevin Covey (WWU)
  • Hardware Development
    • Focal Plane System: Rick Pogge (OSU), Jean-Paul Kneib (EPFL), Sarah Tuttle (UW)
    • LVM Instrument: Nick Konidaris (OCIS), Cynthia Froning (UT)
    • APO Corrector: Steve Smee (JHU)
    • BOSS Instrument Scientist: Alan Uomoto (OCIS)
    • APOGEE Instrument Scientist: John Wilso (UVa)
  • Observatory Operations
    • Apache Point Observatory: Mark Klaene (APO), John Downey (APO)
    • Las Campanas Observatory: Dave Osip (OCIS), Francesco Di Mille (OCIS)
    • Operations Software: José Sanchez-Gallego (UW), Conor Sayres (UW)
  • Data Management and Archiving
    • Principal Data Scientist: Joel Brownstein (Utah)
    • Catalog Archive Scientist: Ani Thakar (JHU)
    • Data Products Manager: Anne-Marie Weijmans (SAU)

Current Collaboration Membership

SDSS-V has gathered a strong set of global institutional members that have signed Memoranda of Understanding as of October 2019. Several more institutions are in various stages of approving membership.

  • Full Institutional Members
    • Carnegie Institution for Science
    • Harvard University
    • Johns Hopkins University
    • Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie
    • Max-Planck-Institut für Extraterrestrische Physik
    • Nanjing University
    • National Astronomical Observatories of China, Chinese Academy of Sciences
    • New Mexico State University
    • Space Telescope Science Institute
    • The Ohio State University
    • Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
    • University of Arizona
    • University of Colorado at Boulder
    • University of Utah
    • Yale University
  • Participation Groups
    • Chilean National Time Allocation Committee
    • Gotham Participation Group
      • Columbia University
      • Flatiron Institution Center for Computational Astrophysics
      • New York University
    • Stellar Astrophysics Participation Group
      • KU Leuven
      • University of Warwick
      • Vanderbilt University
  • Associate Member Institutions
    • École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
    • Georgia State University
    • Kavli Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics
    • Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik
    • Pennsylvania State University
    • Tel Aviv University
    • Texas Christian University
    • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
    • University of Pennsylvania
    • University of Pittsburgh
    • University of Toronto
    • University of Victoria
    • University of Washington
    • York University

Code of Conduct

SDSS-V welcomes and respects all Collaboration members, regardless of race, ethnic origin, religious beliefs, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, disability, age, or family and socio-economic status or cultural background. The success of the SDSS in creating a vibrant and productive scientific culture is widely recognized as one of its signature achievements, and the diversity of the SDSS Collaboration is one of its critical strengths. SDSS-V has embraced the current SDSS Code of Conduct as guidelines for all Collaboration meetings and interactions.